4th of July Cleanse

I hope everyone had an excellent 4th! I truly enjoyed myself HOWEVER I knew even before I went to sleep last night that I was going to wake up feeling like crap….lo and behold.

So I didn’t follow the golden health rule of bringing something to the party, so you know for SURE there will be something healthy to eat. Didn’t have the time, etc. but I definitely paid for my mistake. Luckily there was a fruit platter that I nibbled on yet I didn’t have an appetite for the food that was available (I don’t eat everyone’s cooking, it’s just a thing of mine). So I found myself snacking on chips to curve my hunger. THEN after the fireworks I was so hungry I stopped by Burger King 0_O…..let’s just say a fish sandwich at 10pm is the worst idea I’ve made in a while. No matter how “premium” they claim the fish to be.

But whatever we mess up and we fix things right? So I woke up this morning feeling like sh*t and figured I need to do a cleanse. Hopefully everyone fared better then I but if not here’s some cleansing steps that I’m currently going through to rid my body of all the toxins I accumulated.

-J.S. Gates

Step 1: Drink 2 bottles of water before eating anything. 

 This helps me flush out all the icky junk I ate as water releases toxins from the body.

I also suggesting adding lemons, limes or fresh fruit to help flush out the toxins.

Step 2: Eat a light breakfast. 

I chose to go with my everyday favorite  Earl grey tea with milk (honestly I think I may be addicted b/c if I don’t have my tea my day just goes to poop) and a bowl of fresh strawberries with half an English muffin. For me personally if I don’t have some type of carb with my morning breakfast I get too lightheaded so the English muffin is more for sustenance. Fruits are perfect for loosening the toxins, since it’s recommended to consume foods high in alkaline such as fruits, raw vegetables and raw vegetable juice. Another option is to blend a plate of fresh vegetables and just chug it.

2 tablespoons toasted unsweetened coconut flakes 2 tablespoons gluten-free rolled oats 1/2 apple, sliced 1/4 cup fresh berries 1/4 cup almond milk. In a bowl, combine coconut, oats, apple, berries, and almond milk.

Step 3: Stretch out the toxins.

Yoga is said to naturally detoxify your liver and other essential organs, so I’m definitely rolling out the yoga mat.

Click on the picture to watch a yoga sequence that helps detoxify the body.

Step 4: A Light Lunch and Dinner. 

I looove avocado. I eat an avocado a day either plain or on a salad I don’t care at all. This is a great light recipe I found incorporating my beloved avocado for my lunch.

Rawvocado Soup w/Coconut Water.
2 large, ripe avocados
1 cup coconut water (you could also use nut milk or filtered water)
juice of 1 lime (about 4 tablespoons)
½ cup coriander leaves
¼ cup chives
1 shallot, minced
pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)
Cut open and pit avocados. Scoop out flesh, reserving a small portion of one half for garnish. Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend on high until smooth. If the soup is too thick, add more coconut water until the desired consistency is reached (it should coat the back of a spoon, but not be solid).
Pour into a large jar with a tight-fitting lid and chill in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Serve when cold. Garnish with avocado cubes and chives or coriander.

Here’s a few more options for Dinner: 

Click the picture for more detoxifying recipes perfect for lunch, dinner and snacks in between.

Step 5: Soak the toxins out.

I’m taking it easy today and haven’t relaxed in ages. Here’s a bath recipe that I’ll be using to soak the toxins out.

1/4 cup Sea Salt or Himalayan Salt 1/4 cup Epsom Salt 1/4 cup Baking Soda 1/3 cup Apple Cider Vinegar Favorite essential oil if desired (I use 10 drops of peppermint or lavender).

Step 6: Sweat it Out.

I won’t be doing a full out sweaty workout until tomorrow morning. But even sitting in a sauna or bath will help eliminate toxins through perspiration. However if you do want to go full out today, check out the Cardio Burn post for a great way to sweat it out.

Even a light jog or bike ride will help. Anything to get you sweating 😉

 

Happy Cleansing!!!

Leave a Reply

