Curb Your Enthusiasm

The worst feeling in the world is being hungry and feeling like your only options are the Doritos on the counter or some left over Easter candy that’s still sitting in the back of the cupboard. No? Or maybe run off to the nearest fast food joint because it’s easy and on the way? Pop some Ramen Noodles in the microwave? Just me? Ok well I know it’s a bad habit of mine to ignore my hunger because I’m too “busy” and then go overboard when it’s time for dinner. So to remedy that, I’ve become a professional snacker. I’ve stated before that I’m against skipping meals when it comes to weight loss, I just don’t think that’s an effective route and I also don’t agree with substituting solid meals with a smoothie or protein shake. Just my opinion as I’ve witness others and myself lose weight with healthier ways. Also snacking helps prevent you from going on a binge later on.

Anywhooo, there’s a lot of ways one can curb their appetite in between meals, chewing gum, drinking soda, sitting in a corner and ignoring their belly, etc. One of my favorite ways is to…eat actual food…who would’ve thought? Below are some of my remedies to hold me over until my next meal when I literally have 5 minutes to rush in the house and run right back out in order to head to my next job.

Easy Peasy: If you have wheat bread you have multiple snack options on your hands.
Fruit, eggs (boiled or fried), avocado, bananas, spinach, grilled mushrooms, grilled fish, etc.

My go-to snack that curbs my hunger in between meals is earl grey tea topped off with skim milk. I love tea, I honestly think I’m addicted to it like some people are addicted to coffee in the morning. This curbs my hunger probably because I put about 2-3 tbsp of milk in my tea. This amount of  milk helps to hold me over when I’m rushing off to teach a class or run errands.

Fried Plantains! The key with plantains is you want them soft on the inside and firm on the outside. I like to slice mine into thin small circles and it takes about 5 minuets to make. You want the plantain to have mostly black skin, but make sure it’s not too squishy or it won’t come out the best. They can be fried in olive oil or coconut oil, both healthy options. Another option is to sprinkle cheese over the top. Gives it a nice tangy taste.

I keep trail mix in my purse at all times. Honestly some nuts mixed with cranberries can curb my appetite for hours. Here’s a cool recipe that allows you to bag the trail mix bites up and keep them in your gym bag, purse, desk or car for emergency hunger remedies. Click the pic for the link!

I do not lie when I say I eat an Avocado a day. Forget apples, avocados taste much better and you can do some much with it. I eat it plain most of the time but you can top it off with an egg, or on wheat toast or with some salami slices, tuna etc.

Tuna is the best thing since white chocolate. Love it. If I don’t have time to throw it in a salad or toss it with some pasta, I literally just eat it plain with some Parmesan crackers. Don’t knock it until you try it!

Salsa! Believe it or not healthy salsa options do really exist. This one is a grilled pineapple salsa. Grill 5 half inch thick slices of fresh pineapple on med-high for about 2 min each side, dice 1 small red onion, 2 jalapenos, 1/4 cup cilantro and mix with juice of 1 lime and 1/4 tsp salt. Of course another option is always substituting with avocado and black beans. Skip the tortilla chips and try soy chips, or bagel chips.

Absolutely love breakfast food. Easy peasy, wheat bagel, sliced strawberries over ricotta or fat-free cream cheese.

Leave a Reply

