Stressed out and Pigged out

Foods and Bad Moods

I’ve been in a somewhat stressed out slump lately hence the lack of posts in the last couple of months. Although I’ve kept up with my fitness lifestyle, my creative juices haven’t been “supreme” enough to share via blog posts so I’ve basically been spending the last few months thinking of great posts without actually writing anything.

Yet through my stressed out, noncreative slump I’ve managed to not let my eating habits turn to complete crap. I definitely haven’t been a model citizen when it comes to healthy eating but I also haven’t gained 10 pounds in stress weight which is always something to feel relieved about. I’ve never been the one to eat just straight junk food from feeling stressed out (it helps that there’s never been much junk food in the house either) but I have felt in such a slump that I find myself not even going out my way to pick up healthy groceries or agreeing to Panda Express one too many nights then I usually would. So I’ve decided to embark on a mood detox of sorts, and as it’s the beginning of the month it was either this or go on the Jay-z and Beyonce vegan diet and ironically enough I’m not brave enough for the latter.

What? A fitness blogger too scared of a vegan diet!? Ummm yes believe it or not I’m not at a point in my life where I will WILLINGLY give up meat and cheese. I just don’t think vegan/vegetarian lifestyles are the ONLY option to be healthy, fit and pretty but that’s just me. However hit me up on my thirtieth  birthday and I might be dancing to a new song. Drunken Love perhaps??

Anywho back to my mood detox. So it’s more of a healthy comfort food binge. I don’t want to go on a “diet” detox of sorts because I’m not really looking to lose weight but indulge in more ingredients that’s going to help settle my nerves through this stressful period.

So starting off here’s a few “happy” ingredients along with some recipes that will be dictating most of the meals I plan to eat for my month long mood detox.

-J.S. Gates

Dark Chocolate

Not only is it delish, dark chocolate is high in magnesium, a mineral that calms your muscles and reduces anxiety. It also contains tryptophan, which helps reduce symptoms of depression.

Dark Chocolate, Raspberry & Brie Grilled Cheese. Click Here for recipe.

 

Salmon

It’s packed with omega-3s, which help fight off depression and mood swings. It can also help improve your memory and focus.

Salmon Tacos with Jalapeño Cream. Click Here for recipe.

Spinach

This leafy green is stocked with folic acid, a B vitamin that has been found to boost your mood. It’s also an antioxidant that works to protect your brain cells from free radicals, which can lead to low energy and mood swings.

Spinach and Herb stuffed tomatoes. Click Here for recipe.                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Chicken

This white meat contains B12, a vitamin that helps calm your bod (on the flip side, low B12 levels can make you moody and tired). 

Tomatillo Ranch Chicken. Click Here for recipe.

Avocado 

This yummy green veg contains serotonin, a feel-good neurotransmitter. It’s also really good for your skin, hair, and nails…

My Favorite Breakfast of all time. I could eat this everyday!

Mozzarella, Avocado, Tomato Salad. Click Here for recipe.

Greek Yogurt

Not only is it a wonder-food, the probiotics in Greek yogurt help boost your mood-and immune system.

Whole Wheat, Greek Yogurt Pancakes. Click Here for recipe.

 

Happy eating and happy vibing!

 

One thought on “Stressed out and Pigged out

  1. Haven’t blogged for awhile but see that you shared my recipe from healthylivingjournal.com! I love your site! Inspires me to get back into what I love. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

